Maryland Car Insurance
All cars on the road are required to be insured in the state of Maryland. The state minimum required insurance levels in Maryland include $20,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $40,000 per accident, $15,000 in property damage liability, uninsured motorist protection, and $2,500 in personal injury protection. There are other types of coverage that are available, but these are the just the state mandated minimums.
It will be up to you to decide how much coverage you need and the amount you need will vary on several factors. Your age, your income, and your marital status are all factors that will affect how much coverage you need to protect yourself financially in the event of an accident. Another large factor is whether you are a homeowner or not. In order to protect your home, you should purchase higher liability coverages to protect your home from lawsuits.
A law enforcement officer may ask for proof of insurance and failure to provide this can result in a fee of up to $150, you can have your registration and plates revoked, and you can be put in jail for up to a year. With such severe penalties in Maryland, it is not worth driving without insurance for even a day. To get started you should enter your zip code in the box above to compare quotes from the top insurance companies in Maryland.
Find more insurance information on a major Maryland city: