Oregon Car Insurance
Oregon's minimum state requirements for auto insurance are $25,000 in bodily injury protection per person, $50,000 per accident, $20,000 in property damage liability, $15,000 for personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist coverage. You are required to submit proof of insurance each time your register your vehicle, which makes it hard to be uninsured in Oregon. Driving without insurance may result in a fine and your car could get impounded. If you get into a car accident, and you do not have insurance, your license will be suspended for up to a year.
The constantly and quickly changing weather in Oregon can make it fairly treacherous to drive. This can cause a lot of car accidents, so you want to be sure you have good car insurance coverage if you end up in an accident. You can find good insurance providers here at Diggy Insurance. All you need to do is provide your zip code at the box at the top of the page, and you will get a rate comparison from the top Oregon insurance providers.
You are allowed to get a drivers permit starting at the age of 15 in Oregon. You must hold this permit for at least 6 months if you are 16-17 before you are allowed to apply for a provisional driver's license. You are also required to complete 50 hours of supervised driving and a vision screen test. A provisional license does not allow teen drivers to drive between midnight and 5 AM, unless they are driving to or from work, or are accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 25. The first 6 months of the provisional license, teens are not allowed to carry any passengers under the age of 20, excluding family members. The second 6 months they are allowed to carry up to 3 passengers under the age of 20.
Find more insurance information on a major Oregon city: