Virginia Car Insurance
In order to purchase your license plate in Virginia, you must first show proof of insurance on your car or pay an uninsured motorist fee of $500. If you choose to purchase insurance the minimum standards required in Virginia include $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage. Insurance companies look at many factors when determining premium rates. These include your age, gender, driving record, and your credit score.
If you choose to go uninsured, you should understand that you are still financially liable if you are found to be at fault in an auto accident. You will personally have to pay for any medical bills or damage repair. The smart bet is to purchase car insurance so you are financially covered if you do find yourself in a car accident.
Insurance companies are required to report to the Virginia DMV every time a customer adds or cancels an insurance policy on their vehicle. So if you cancel a plan and do not purchase a new plan to cover your car, the DMV will know and this could potentially result in a fine of up to $500. Buying insurance is the most painless way to ensure that you are covered in case of an accident. When you are ready to look at plans you should gather all the materials you need to get a quote. Enter your zip code in the box at the top of the page to compare quotes from several Virginia car insurance providers and save money.
Find more insurance information on a major Virginia city: